When food becomes art: TCC


The Connoisseur Concerto

Or TCC for short. Connoisseur refers to a person with  vast knowledge in the field of cuisine and fine arts, while a Concerto is a musical composition. An apt name for a cafe that takes the presentation of its dishes as seriously as art.

It was my first time dining at TCC and to be honest, I thought it was just another cafe with a menu of cakes and coffee. But to my surprise, they boast a wide variety of dishes ranging from pasta to sandwiches, soups and desserts. I wasn’t particularly up for something heavy and decided to go for a sandwich, the Crisp-Club Sandwich, and it proved to be larger than I had imagined it to be.

The Crisp-Club Sandwich is a three-tiered sandwich. Between the first two slices of crispy bread are thick slices of tomato and lettuce, topped of with a layer of cheese with scrambled eggs spilling over on the top. The bottom half of this monster sandwich is where all the meat is – chicken and bacon. The sandwich comes with salad and pickles (which I did not really enjoy but they do look very cute). For obvious reasons, you can imagine how hard a time I had trying to fit this sandwich into my mouth. I had to split the top and bottom levels and slice them up into bite size chunks. Not that I’m complaining, but I usually enjoy savouring all the flavours of the dish at once, not by parts.

Overall, I really enjoyed this sandwich. It’s very filling though! With all the lettuce and crispy bread, there’s definitely a crunch in every bite.

Save your stomach for dessert, especially if you have a devotion for chocolate haha.

Make sure your try the Dark Devotion, a chocolate cake with a chocolate filled core. It’s served up warm with strawberries and cherries dribbled with bright red strawberry sauce. To top it off, a scoop of vanilla icecream with a thin and brittle sugar crisp. This contrast of warm soft cake with cold icecream and sugar crisp makes a sumptuous combination of flavours and textures. If there’s one thing I must have here next time, it’s definitely the Dark Devotion.

I’m not a big fan of coffee, but hey, I’m in a cafe! I might as well have not ordered coffee at all coz the Choco-coffee Decadence tasted more like a cup of hot chocolate than coffee haha. Well there is a coffee after taste but the chocolate taste overwhelmed it. The marshmallows on top and cookie at the side was a nice touch though!

For my second time at TCC, there was this really good one-for-one offer, where you order two dishes, and pay for the one that costs less. I decided to try one of their signature dishes, Beef Steak on Crispy Puff Pastry. I haven’t had beef for a long time and I’m glad that I chose to eat it here.

As usual, the presentation is no less beautiful as compared to the others. I asked for medium rare, which is perfect as this helped preserve the flavours of the beef as well as give it a blush of red when sliced through. The sauce was sweet and together with the crispy pastry which gave an additional crunch, it was a mouthful of yummy with every bite! The salad was normal though. Potatoes and carrots weren’t really fully cooked, but I suppose some people prefer it that way. Overall, it’s an 8 out of 10 for this dish!!

Address: 238 Thomson Road #01-56/58 Novena Square ( one of the 31 outlets )

Opening Hours:

Sunday to Thursday & Public Holidays – 11am to 10pm
(Last Food Order – 9.15pm, Last Drink Order – 9.30pm)

Friday, Saturday & Eve of Public Holidays – 11am to 12am
(Last Food Order – 11.15pm, Last Drink Order – 11.30pm)

Website: http://www.theconnoisseurconcerto.com/

Leave a Reply

